Meal planning – how’s it going?

Our family is into the second week of meal planning with a budget. Here is what I planned for our first week of meals.

I wanted to take the time to talk about how it went and if there was anything that I needed/wanted to change for the 2nd week.

Looking at two different ads and trying to figure out what meals, mostly dinner, I could make from the sale items wasn’t as easy as I thought it was going to be. It took much more time that I wanted it to and what I thought it would. That could also be because it was my first time doing it. Once we were all finished shopping at both stores & I added up how much was spent, I have to say that it was an adrenaline rush to find out if we were over or under. (Click the above link to find out!)

So did we stick the the plan!?
Yes, we did! There were a few days where what was on the menu was pushed back to the next day (a friend cooked us dinner one night. Such a blessing 🙂 ) I think there are 3 days that ended up flowing into this week. That made week 2 much easier! (More to come on the 2nd week later)

I posted the menu on the fridge so that I could see it. If I didn’t see it in plain sight daily, I knew that I wouldn’t stick to the plan at all. What I wasn’t expecting is that my kiddos would ask what we were having for {insert breakfast, lunch, or dinner} and I would say something like “Let me look at the menu”. They then began to look themselves & tell me what we were having for that meal. It was mostly my 8 year old only because he was the only kiddo that was home that could read the words. They actually started to look forward to looking at the menu and telling me what was next.

The one thing that I know that I need to change is when I take out the meat. I was taking it out in the morning and letting it thaw all day in the fridge & then when time was closer to dinner I would take it out to thaw in cold water. That didn’t work so well. The meat wouldn’t thaw all the way and would mess up my timing and some nights, it messed up dinner completely. What I started doing over the weekend was to take the meat out the night before & put it in the fridge. That seemed to help more. Hopefully that’ll work out better and not mess up anymore dinner meals!

Another thing that I would like to change is the paper that I am using. There is nothing wrong with just using a piece of notebook paper to display meals. I just want to use pretty paper! It makes it more exciting for me & makes something so boring, something that I will look forward to doing. Which in the end, will make me keep wanting to do this instead of making it a have to. I went on my Pinterest board (Pretty Paper) to see if I had pinned anything pretty that I wanted to use. I didn’t. So I spent some time looking for something that caught my eye. I found a few that I want to use and probably just rotate out so that I don’t get bored.
Picture 261 weekly Capture

I found tons but I think that I am going to stick to these 3 unless I find more that I want to add to the mix. I am going to put the paper in a sheet cover so that I can write & wipe each week. Plus I don’t want to keep printing paper off….just one less thing that I want to remember to do.

Overall, it worked much better than I thought & I will keep doing this as long as I have so many mouths to feed 😉

Oh! I also found this while looking for printables & think that I will try this too. Will just have to see how it would work for us & where to put it in our kitchen.
menu planner finished

Do you meal plan? How do you display it? What is your process for something that can become so boring?
See ya around for meal planning week 2 🙂

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

