Take 3

Start here if you haven’t read these posts yet:
Mommie & the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day
Take 2

No matter the time of year, weekends & holidays are just different than the regular week.
This past 4th of July weekend was no different.
Mister had a 3 day weekend and, of course, all 5 kiddos where home. They don’t do anything different than any other day, so I am never quite sure why I get more irritated on the weekends. I don’t know if it’s because Mister is home and I want to spend time with him or what. Either way, I need to work on it.

I lost it on Sunday with the boys. All they had to do was clean their room, something that shouldn’t have taken more than an hour. Well they ended up choosing to take somewhere around 5ish hours to do. What a nightmare! The whining, crying, tattle taling, the talking back…ugh! At one point I had just had enough and didn’t pay attention to any of my words that I was saying. I started using cuss words (which I rarely do) and just yelling and flying off the handle. It was almost like I couldn’t calm down until I had that outburst. I felt horrible after my tantrum. I haven’t yet but I should probably still apologize for it.
After that, I was able to talk calmly and actually talk and not yell. I could form my thoughts much better and make sure what I was going to say was going to be helpful instead of hurtful.

I need to remember that when my kiddos have a meltdown or tantrum that they have just met their boiling point. I need to remember to not bite their head off for acting the same way that I did. We all have a breaking point. We all need a moment to breakdown, calm down, and then refocus. It’s not just adults. It’s always easier for me to look back and know what I should have done/said. It’s the in the moment times that I need to apply this stuff. I am not perfect in any way, shape, or form. I am a hot mess! My house is anything but quiet and calm. At any given moment if you come over to my house there is a mess on the floor & table and someone is usually crying or screaming. It’s a working progress. We are all still learning. Just because we have, almost, 6 kiddos does not in any way mean that we have a clue to what we are doing.

Imperfect progress.

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

