Thankful Thursday 05/29/14

[Again, late with the posts but what are you going to do!?]

friendsfamily

I am thankful for strangers turning into acquaintances.
Acquaintances that turned into friends.
Friends who turned into family.

We have never had friends like we have friends now. We have never had friends who want to take our kiddos and spend time with them. We have never had friends who went above & beyond just because they loved us and wanted to.

This is a new concept for Mister and I.
We have also never lived close enough to family where they could watch them or take them if they wanted to whenever the grandparents wanted to. The closest is now with my mom & step dad. They live about an hour away (which is the closest we’ve lived to family in many years) but because of busy schedules on both sides, it’s been hard to get together as often as we would like.

When our friends say that they want to take our kiddos or even just 1 kiddo, I am always a bit hesitant. Not because I don’t trust the person or because I don’t want to share my kiddo but because I don’t want our friends to think it’s something they have to do or anything along those lines. I know they wouldn’t offer if they didn’t want to. Like I said, we have never had friends who wanted to take our kiddo and spend time with them or keep them overnight.

I hope I am explaining this the way that I want/feel & it comes across the way that I want it to.

I am so thankful for friends like this in our life. Not only does it give me & Mister a bit of a break but (most importantly) it’s building relationships with these special people with/for our kiddos. I know that they so enjoy their times with these people & look forward to their time with them. Even if it’s just playing at the park with them.

I didn’t have this growing up as a kiddo and am so thankful that my kiddos have this in theirs. I will never be able to express how thankful I am for these friends that have turned into family.

It may not take a village to raise a kiddo but it does take one to love a kiddo. I cannot be everything to my kiddos all the time & in the ways they need/want. Yes, I am their mother but sometimes they need someone else other than a parent.

If you have this kind of circle of friends & family in your life, please do not take them for granted! Not everyone is as fortunate to have this circle surround them with love. Tell these people who thankful you are that they are in your families life. Tell them you don’t take them for granted. Tell them they are irreplaceable. Love these people like they are family.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart to these families that have filled something in our lives that I didn’t even know was missing. We love you very much and are so thankful for each & every one of you. Thank you for everything 🙂 ❤

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

