Week 28, Baby #6

I realize that I’ve been updating when my weeks change but I’m really updating the week previous. Does that make sense??
So this week I will be reviewing my 27th week since I turned 28 weeks yesterday.

The week was going well and uneventful until Monday hit. If you are friends with me on Facebook then you’ve already been through this, but if not, here’s what happened.

Monday afternoon around 3pm, after getting the kiddos from school, I started to have contractions. My first thought was that I hadn’t done anything to over do it and have my body react that way. Ok, maybe they were braxton hicks. As the evening time progressed so did the pain and frequency of these contractions. I was buckling over in pain, having to hold on to something if I was standing, having to focus on my breathing, curling up in a ball if I was laying down. I didn’t want to panic & call the Dr right away. I told myself that since I had a normal appointment on Wednesday that if they stopped through the night I wouldn’t call but if they continued I wouldn’t wait.
They continued all.night.long. I barely got any sleep. My abdomen was sore from all these contractions. I had nothing else going on (symptom wise) but these very painful contractions.

I followed through with my promise to myself and Mister & called soon after I woke up. The Dr on call asked me 1 question, was my belly tightening? My answer was yes and his reply was that I needed to be seen at l&d ASAP. Got everyone ready, took the kiddos to school, Lily to a friends house, Mister stopped by work to tell his boss, and then we were on our way.

I was nervous about what they would find and what the results would be. You just never know what your body and/or the baby will do, when, and why.

After I changed into those oh so fashionable gowns and peed in a cup, I was hooked up to the machine (the one where they listen to the baby’s heartbeat & it monitors contractions). Of course since I was there my contractions barely came. I had a few but barely even registered on the monitor.

After a few hours the Dr on call determined that I was dehydrated and had caught a 24 hour stomach bug which, all that put together, made me contract.
I didn’t even know I had a stomach bug. My appetite didn’t change, I didn’t feel different….nothing. So who really knows.

After the nurse trying to stick me in one hand & making me cry, she finally got the line in my other hand & started fluids.
Seemed to take forever for this bag to empty! But once it was, we were finally able to leave….4 hours later. But I would much rather have a stomach bug than preterm labor any day!

Wednesday morning I had my normal Dr appointment. Weighed in at 225 (up 6lbs since last month. Is that an ok amount to gain in a month??)
Had my ultrasound & Baby W looked perfect again! My placenta moved up which is good news. Not a concern at all but baby is measuring a week bigger than what I really am. This is something new and never experienced before.
Talked to my Dr about having a vbac and it’s a go! As long as baby isn’t breech then I can go ahead with one. She said that even if baby is breech that she would be ok with me having a vbac but I’m not comfortable delivering a breech baby…..hence why Lily’s birth was via csection.

image

*Baby W yawning with its fist at it’s mouth*

Other than all that, everything checked out great & I go back at the end of May. Then I start going every 2 weeks. It doesn’t seem like it should be time to be going back that often yet. Plus I received the registration packet for the hospital. This is just happening too fast!!!

Bought some clothes for the baby & I’ll probably share all our baby buys in a few weeks. Also I will be sharing names soon, been asked about that.

See you next week when I’m  29 weeks & review my 28th week 🙂

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

