Supermom or Real mom?

Motherhood is hard. We all struggle together. That is truth. But are you trying to be “Supermom” or “Real Mom”?

–Supermom says “I can do it myself”. Internally, she struggles with loneliness, but tells herself she doesn’t have time for friends. –“REAL MOM” recognizes she can’t do it by herself. She faces her fear of rejection (that so many of us struggle with) and says “Hello” and strikes up a conversation with another mom.

–Supermom is all about her “to do” list. She’s focused on her tasks, not connecting with the people around her. Her worth is based on her comparison to other moms. She fears reaching out and asking for help, for fear of being seen as “too needy”. –“REALMOM” realizes people and relationships are more important than her to do list. She craves connection, not competition. Her self worth is based on her relationships, most importantly her relationship with God. She recognizes that asking for help is an opportunity to connect with another mom.

–Supermom is focused on her weaknesses. She is stuck in the “I can’t”. –“REALMOM” thrives in her strengths and realizes with “I CAN” there is real life change. She doesn’t focus on her weaknesses but instead on who God IS!!! She knows that…”I CAN do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me.” Phil 4:13

I don’t know about you, but in my striving to be everything to everyone, I don’t want to miss out on the joy of being my kids mom. Let’s make a decision today to embrace being REAL MOM together, shall we?

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds. Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another-and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” Heb 10:25.

This is what our speaker read to us mommas on our first moms group at the beginning of this month. I love it and am trying my best to be real instead of super.

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

