Prayer and petition

I usually don’t post a blog this late &, actually, wasn’t going to until I read the word petition.

There have been some things that have been on my mind lately.
Ok, let me get more real than that.
There have been many things that have been weighing on me & consuming my thoughts. Today it seemed like they all hit me at once + just doing our daily life.

It hasn’t happened but at any minute I feel like I am going to need a brown paper bag to start taking deep breaths into.
I can see the anxiety attack coming a mile away.

I don’t want the attack to happen. I can’t let Satan, my thoughts, and these worldly troubles bother me/get me down/torture me to this point. It’s not healthy, unproductive, and not what God wants for me. And it’s definitely not something that I want for myself.

So after we came home from a family visit (which we had a great time today!), everyone was in bed (including Mister), and the last few loads of laundry (at least for now) were going, I knew that I have to get into the word. There was no other way for me to have the heaviness be lifted off my chest, shoulders, and heart. I have been praying for about certain things lately but prayer just doesn’t seem to be doing it anymore for these specific things. That’s another reason I knew that I had to read His word.
Most of the time I don’t know where to start, especially when I am craving/needing some specific.
First, since my phone was almost dead & charging, I logged into my YouVersion account on my laptop to read and get what I needed.
I soon realized I wasn’t getting anything or anywhere. Well, that’s not entirely true. I bookmarked Matthew 6:19-34 & read it about twice.

My heart didn’t feel that was enough. It knew I needed/wanted more than that.
I pulled out my Bible and turned to the back where it lists specific topics & where to find them.
I go to and read the page under the “Anxiety” section.
I read it, get it, and underline a few points that stood out to me.
Then I turn to the second page that is under this section.
The page was on the right but on the left was a verse that I have highlighted before.
After I read that verse, I knew that I didn’t need to read whatever the other page had to say.
It was exactly what I needed to hear/see.
I patted my Bible, smiled, and said “Thank you Lord. I needed that.”

Like I said at the start of this post, I wasn’t even planning on typing anything up about this until I got my thoughts together more. (If this seems rambled & off it’s because I am doing this unplanned and winging it.)
I was just going to write a journal entry crying out to God and praying over what’s been consuming me.
Until I got to the word ‘petition’ in this verse.

Philippians 4:6
Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

I was going to (and still planning) do all this. And then I thought of another verse (Matthew 18:19, ” Again, truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven”)

This is where the petition part comes in. I may be wrong in this, and if I am please point it out to me, but it doesn’t say to petition alone. So I am asking anyone who would like to or feels lead to, to please keep us in your prayers. Be in agreement with us that His will is done, that we listen to what He tells us, and that we are at peace with what He is giving us.
I know that I would rather say to be in agreement with what we want and what we think is best, but I know those things may not be His plan for us. I have to release what I want (even though it’s not easy at all and something that I struggle with all the time) and do what He wants.

I will be writing out an entry in my journal tonight like the verses says. This is me doing the other part of the verse….the petition part.
Thank you to each one of you that stands in our corner & says a prayer for us tonight, it means more than I could ever express. ❤

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

