1 year on meds

Last week we had the boys’ 6 month check up (they go every 6 months to make sure they are gaining weight & then just reviewing the last 6 months.) and it went well. They are both growing just fine & there’s no concern with that end of things.

Mark is doing great. He is realizing his actions sooner than he used to. He is trying/learning to manage things instead of allowing his impulses to get the best of him.
For example: a few weeks ago when the boys were leaving school & Mark decided that he was going to walk to a friends house that we didn’t even know. Dominic knew that he shouldn’t be doing that, so he walked home by himself. When Dominic got home and I asked him where his brother was, he explained all this to me. At this point there wasn’t really anything I could do, didn’t have the truck & no one knew where this friend lived. I figured that I would wait until he got home to take care of the situation.
Not too long (about 30 minutes or so) after Dominic got home, Mark walked through the door. Before I even asked why he was late he proceeded to tell me the choices that he made, when he realized what he was doing wasn’t a good idea, and then the choices he made to correct his mistake.

That is HUGE for Mark! I am so proud of him for realizing this and telling me. A year ago this would have never happened.
After giving the dr a recap on Mark, we decided to leave things as they with him. We didn’t see a reason to change anything if it wasn’t needed.

Dominic was what I needed help with at this appointment. He’s fine while on his medicine but the moment that medicine leaves his body, wow, watch out! It’s as bad as it was before we ever started this whole process. It’s really bad in the morning and afternoon/evening. We have tried different things with him, it’s not working. Mister & I are at the end of our ropes with what to do and are really needing some help. I talked with the dr, told him that it was recommended that Dominic have therapy when he was diagnosed, and we decided that this would be a good thing to happen.
So I called the place where they went to get their diagnoses, set up an appointment, and have a therapy session set up for next week. I am so thankful that we were able to get in so fast! Our insurance also covers family therapy, so we are going to take advantage of that also.

I am excited about the new help that our family will be getting. Dominic may have the label but we, as a family, need to learn skills along with him. It’s not just his issue, it’s our issue too.
I will update next week after our first session to let y’all know how it went!

We also have our yearly meeting to review Mark’s 504 plan at school next Tuesday. We are definitely keeping it but don’t know if changes need to be made. Looking forward to what his teachers think and hear their view on things.

Talk to ya next week 🙂

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

