I am perfect

Well if that statement isn’t one of the biggest lies EVER!

I have been doing some thinking lately (I know, that could be dangerous) and wanted to share a few things with you all. I got confirmation of this when a friend of mine posted a status talking about her Christian confession.

It was been laid upon my heart to share the truth. I am finding it hard sometimes because I don’t know everything and I am not always sure how to put my thoughts into sentences that make sense. This topic has been weighing on me for awhile & I know the only way to get that feeling to go away is to type it out. So here we go! 🙂

I am a Christ follower. I read the Bible. I put action to what I believe is true. I back up my talk with my walk.

I mess up. I contradict myself. I fall.

I am not afraid to admit when I am/do/say wrong. I am sorry to those that I have done this to, I really am. I usually fall when I am ‘in the moment’. I learn so much more when I do fall though. I go back and relive my mistakes and tell myself what I need to improve on. I ask God to help me fix myself and to know/do better in the future. I cannot possibly do this on my own. I have done/said wrong to many people in my life. Most of the time it’s not something I meant to do. My filter doesn’t always work and I have word vomit. My mouth gets me into more trouble than I could possibly tell you.

My thoughts get the best of me when I feel I was done wrong, didn’t get credit for something, and when people piss me off. God has recently been telling me that just because they don’t hear what I am saying doesn’t make it right. My thoughts are so strong….they control my attitude, my words, and my actions. If I don’t get my thoughts under control then I am in trouble! I have been making sure that when bad/ugly/nasty/wrong thoughts come into my mind, that I need to pray them away. I need to replace those wrong thoughts with good ones.
Example of a thought that has come into my mind lately:
Whoever told her that she looked good definitely lied to her.
I am a people watcher. I love to watch people interact with life. There have been plenty of times where this thought came to mind when seeing some of the clothes that girls are wearing. When these unkind thoughts come into my mind, I try to stop them, look at her again, and find something nice to think about her. Maybe it’s her hair, shoes…something.

I do things that are wrong. I do things that I know I shouldn’t be doing.
I don’t always mean to do wrong things. I do things most of the time without even thinking. This is where I need to make the effort. I need to start thinking before I start doing. Most of the time I kick myself right after I do something & it hits me “I should not have done that”. I am learning to apologize immediately afterwards. Especially to my kiddos. They need to know that we do wrong, it’s ok to say we have done wrong, and that it’s important to say sorry and ask for forgiveness. I cannot expect others to do this to me if I am not willing to do that to them. I have to put my pride aside and do that it right, not what I want to do.

I am not sharing this with y’all to get a pat on my back or to say that I am better than you, because I am not! I am sharing this with you to let you know that just because I say that I am a Christ follower doesn’t mean that I stop being/doing wrong. It means that I can go and ask for forgiveness, learn, and go forward. I don’t need to dwell in my wrong doings, that doesn’t get me anywhere. In order for me to show unbelievers & believers that God is real & right, I have to do what He tells me to and do what I read in the Bible. There have been many times where I have done something that just didn’t want to do because I thought I was right. But I did it anyway because I have to follow what God tells me to do. Nothing good can come from not obeying His word.

I am an imperfect person trying to do my best to a perfect God.
I mess up.
I fall.
I am wrong.
I am forgiven.

2 thoughts on “I am perfect

    • It’s hard to replace ugly thoughts with positive ones sometimes. I have noticed that my kiddos have picked up on phrases/words that I use and I started telling them not to say it but then I wouldn’t stop. I can’t show them that it’s ok for me to say it but not them. Sometimes us parents need a timeout too for not following the rules 🙂

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

