Homemade baby puffs

Again, I am sorry to the original poster, I cannot remember where I got this recipe from.

The recipe says to use a Play Dough confetti maker. I know that not everyone has one, I don’t, & ended up using a medicine syringe. This was not the easiest way to make little puffs. I will have to figure out what to use next time. If you have any suggestions, please pass them along to me! Was definitely messy!

Recipe:

2 Tablespoons Oil
2 Egg Yolks
1 teaspoon Vanilla
1/4 Cup Sugar
1 1/2 Cup Baby Cereal
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
Water (I used 2/4 cup)

Mix all ingredients. add enough water to make it come together. add more
cereal if you added too much water. Load the dough into the Play Dough
Confetti maker and crank away. you don’t need to worry about separating
them all completely, after they bake, they separate easily just by shaking
the pan. Bake at 325 for about 7-10 minutes. let cool for 5 minutes or so
before putting them in an air tight container. Store in the fridge.

Pictures:

jan7 045 jan7 046 jan7 047 jan7 048 jan7 049

 

Lily loves these things! They do melt in your mouth. The one thing that I do is tear pieces off for her. These are just too big to give to her right now.I have tasted them & so do the rest of my kiddos. They taste good & are a great snack for anyone in the house. I am wanting to add mashed bananas in the next mix next time. I am sure that you can add anything to this mix!

Let me know all the different ways you have made em & what you’ve added to them! Enjoy 🙂

28 thoughts on “Homemade baby puffs

  1. Thanks! I used olive oil and rice cereal, no sugar and added half a banana and two handfuls of spinach. I blended the banana and spinach with water before adding. They turned out great, but I had to cook them for much longer 12-15 min. Baby approved and they tasted like green naked juice.

  2. I like the banana instead of sugar idea, and I am going to use the oatmeal cereal with strawberry bits too. I am also going to try using one of those ketchup bottles you can get form the Dollar Store and cut off the top to make a wider opening to dispense the mixture onto the baking sheet and see how that works. Thanks for the idea. I tried these the other day and they were a pain to break up and I cooked them too long and they turned into rocks. I am going to try again with these new ideas and hopefully my daughter will like them!

    • Mine did not. My oldest is 9 and all my kiddos were wanting to eat them. I even ate them, they are pretty tasty! I didn’t find that they melted in your mouth like Gerber does but if you make them smaller, it should be fine. I was making mine as bigger as Gerber and I found that my daughter choked on them but making them smaller worked. Hope this helps 🙂

  3. I made a batch a week ago and my 8 month old went crazy over them to the point he won’t eat the regular puffs anymore. I was concerned when I made them that they would be too hard for him so I baked them on my baking stone from pampered chef (everything cooks slower and doesn’t get too burnt on it) and I watched them very closely. I found that if you take them out just before you think they are cooked and let them cool they are melt in your mouth perfect! I also experimented with my shapes, dots first then I also made about 1 1/2 inch sticks. He loved the sticks so much better. I am not sure if it was because he got more or if they were easier to hold. But thank you for this wonderful recipe and I hope my “tips” are helpful to others.

  4. Sounds great! I plan to use my icing bag with a cupcake tip but will experiment depending on consistency. Also, I’m using ground up oatmeal, puréed strawberry and banana.

  5. If I wanted to add pureed fruits or veggies, at what part in the recipe would I do that? Would it replace something or be an additional ingredient? Would I need to compensate another ingredient if the puree is additional? Appreciate the help!

    • Hi Laura!
      I honestly have no idea and cannot answer this question. The only thing that I can tell you is to do a trail & error. If you wanted to take the time, you could also Google other recipes like this and get in touch with that poster. I am sorry that I am no help to your question!

  6. Hi I was just wondering if these melted in your mouth ? Or if they we’re soft and okay for babies with no teeth ? My son is 6 months old and I’m trying to find a homemade recipe that is okay for him…thanks !

    • Hi Nikki!
      They melted in my mouth. If you make them smaller than I did, they would probably melt faster. I don’t think that my daughter had teeth when I made these for her but I honestly don’t remember. I would suggest making them small, giving him 1 at a time, and see how he does with them.
      I hope that he enjoys them 🙂

  7. Hey guys! I found that if you use the egg whites as well that the snack comes out super fluffy and melts in your mouth. Also if you don’t have a play dough squeezy thing you can put it in a bag and squeeze it out like cake frosting. I did little dots on PARCHMENT paper and they came out excellent (they stick to the pan if you don’t). Thanks for everyone’s advice!!!

  8. I used the whole egg, swapped out the sugar for applesauce and the vanilla for cinnamon. Added in some blueberries and used more cereal since I found the mixture runny. Baked them for about 15 minutes. They smelled amazing while baking and kind of taste like a blueberry muffin. They do fall apart.

  9. Easy way to avoid mess is to pour batter in small ziplock & cut a small hole in corner then you can just squeeze/ dab on cookie sheet. Or piping with a cake decorator

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

