RTRD – Master closet

Now there weren’t any monsters or skeletons in my closet, there was a bunch of stuff! About 95% of it was things that were still in boxes from when we moved in here almost 1 year ago! I knew I had to go through boxes though because I tend to keep things just to keep them. I am a little bit of a horder and when it dawns on me that I am keeping something just for the sake of saying I have it, it makes it’s way to the trash. I would like to say that I am nowhere near those people you see on TV! And I have gotten better over the years.


This is right as you walk into the closet. Lilys clothes are on the right and Misters clothes are on the left.


You can see where my clothes are hanging and then the stack of stuff in the lower corner.


The pile o’ stuff under Lily & Misters clothes.


This is what it looked like on the shelves.

Now the closet was way more time consuming than I thought it would be. It took me an entire day from start to finish. Now please remember I have 5 kiddos at home and need to stop to feed, change diapers, and referee them too 😉
I went through boxes and bags to make sure I wasn’t over looking anything. I made sure that I went through everything in this closet!


This is the mess that was made from going through everything and sorting and figuring out where everything was going to end up. This was the most time consuming part of the entire closet part.


This is walking into the closet.

The top of the shelves. I know it might still looked cluttered but it’s really not.


The floor of the closet. Those cardboard boxes are things that Mister has to go through. I know that I have said that in every post but he doesn’t have much time during the week because of work, so it usually happens on the weekends.

I have 3 plastic totes + one cardboard box. They were full (almost to the point where the lids wouldn’t stay on) of clothes for the kiddos that I was keeping, baby clothes of both genders so I am always prepared, and my cloth diaper stash. Now I go through the clothes every now and then but I can never seem to rid my stash of much. But this time I did!!! And now you get to see the results!


Here are the totes and box that I was talking about. This is the after picture. I didn’t think to take a before because I honestly didn’t know the end was going to be like this!


After going through all of those containers and box, I am giving away 5 brown paper bags worth of clothes and cloth diapers! I was so proud of myself for what I had done! I tend to hang on to clothes because I never know when/if we are having another baby & what will fit the kiddos later.


And after all is said in done in the closet, this is everything that I am giving away. I am not selling anything that is leaving my house. We have been blessed by so many people since moving to this area, that I want to do the same. I would not feel right in my spirit if I tried to sell anything. There are a few more things that have left the closet but they are sitting in the living room…..you will get to see those pictures once I start in there.
I would also like to point out that I went through my clothes in the closet and have entire brown bag full of my clothes that I am giving away. (It’s the bag with the 6 on top)

So this is the end of our room to room documentary in our master bedroom, bathroom, and closet. It took me from Monday to Thursday to finish just this one room. I started in the mornings (around 9 or 10) on all these days. I wanted to make sure that I not only cleaned these areas but also to declutter and give everything a home. It does no good to pull everything out, clean a little, and then put everything back. Things need a home so they are out of the way and you can find them the next time you need them.
Believe me, I know that it is time consuming but the majority of people do NOT want to tackle something like this. But with the majority of those people, it is something that NEEDS to be done!
I also know that it can feel/be overwhelming to walk into a room and start something like this. So pick a room. Divide that room up (like I did) and tackle those smaller sections of that room. Divide those smaller sections into smaller ones if you need to. This is something that everyone can do if you put your mind to it. You have to be determined to stop going in these crazy cycles. It really is peace of mind at the end of the day when I lay my head down.

This is just the beginning of my RTR documentary! I am doing our whole house! Stay tuned for more & join in whenever you want! If you do, please let me know! Share your story and pictures with us! Email me (mommieventures@gmail.com) to tell me about it or join my fan page & jump in on the conversations!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

