Finish what’s on your plate!

If you are around mine & Misters age (28 & 30) then you probably heard this growing up while you were sitting at the dinner table. I know we did!

Now that we are the parents and are recogonizing when we are eating enough, we find ourselves struggling.

We have never told our children that they must finish everything on their plate and if we did it was many years ago because I don’t remember. All I know is that we do not do that now……ever! We do not want our kids to over eat to the point that they make themselves sick and we do not want them to be overweight from eating too much and we want them to learn to listen to their body. I do not think that those things were taught to us growing up. Our children do not need to finish their plate in order to have dessert (rarely do we have that to begin with). Whenever we do have dessert they must eat at least half and try anything new that is on their plates. There is some fighting on this rule but they are kids, what do you expect!?

Now for the part that Mister and I struggle with….and it has nothing to do with our kiddos.
Since we grew up with that mindset, we are now having trouble not finishing what’s on our plate! We think that we are wasting food when we leave it on our plate. We feel bad that you don’t eat everything on our plate. It’s food…why should we feel bad!? This is something that we struggle daily though. I am not sure how many others out there are like this, but I know we aren’t the only ones. Since we have been talking about this more, it seems that I am moving past this mind set more than Mister, though he is listening to his body more when he eats. And I think that I am moving past it faster is because I don’t want to put on all the weight that I lost during my pregnancy (wasn’t try to loose weight, the baby was just taking everything I had). I don’t want to see that number climb. So mine is half fear and half making an effort to not so much or just because it’s there. I am trying to not put so much on my plate to begin with and use smaller plates so I think I am getting more when the whole plate is covered. And when I mean smaller plate…I mean like a kiddo size plate.

I know at the end of the day that what it all comes down to is self discipline, but it is hard to get past a mindset that you have grown up with for 30-ish years. We are doing well though since we have recognozed it and are dealing with it daily instead of just saying things like “Well we have been like this for such a long time…guess we will just stay this way.” No way….I do not like that mindset & won’t allow myself or Mister to think that way!

2 thoughts on “Finish what’s on your plate!

  1. I have been trying to do the same thing. I do agree that we were basically conditioned that way since birth. It’s not healthy, and I don’t want my kids to be that way either. And since they do most of their learning from us, I want to set a good example for them.

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

