Breastfeeding

Is going so well! I am so happy and excited that I have been breastfeeding for 5 weeks!  This is the longest that I have ever breastfed and I continue to go for at least a year….but that’s all up to Lily.

I breastfeed on demand because I figure Lily knows her body way better than any clock does 🙂
I feed her when she tells me she is hungry and I let her nurse for at least 15 minutes on each side. Most of the time she passes out on the second side and that’s alright by me. I burp her inbetween sides but she usually spits up later. She is gaining weight like a champ, so I know my boobie juice is doing it’s job!

To be honest, every time she is weighed I get nervous. Since I can’t actually see how much milk she is drinking (opposed to a bottle where you can actually measure the ounces) and since this is the first time breastfeeding has actually worked out, I never know what the scale is going to say. But since she was weighed last (07/09/12) she went from 8lbs 1oz (06/25/12) to 9lbs 6oz, I don’t think I need to worry anymore whether or not she is getting enough milk!

I have one side that produces more milk than the other. When Lily nurses on the other side I get an empty baby food jar and let the side that produces more just drip into the jar. I don’t always remember to do this within the chaos of my days, but when I do, I try to get as much as I can. I want to have some milk that she can have if, for whatever reason, we can’t be together when she needs to eat. I am thinking that I will need to get a pump soon just so I can have more back up in the freezer. Plus the more that I nurse and/or express milk, the more my body will make…benefitting both me and Lily!


So far I only have 1/2 a baby food jar of breast milk. Not alot but it’s a start. I think that I will call WIC and see if they have a manual pump that I can borrow. I would pump after Lily nurses so that she can get enough but then I can completely empty each side to make room for more milk.
Yep…I think that’s what I will do!

5 weeks going strong & I can only pray that I can go 12 months!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

