What the crap!?

Seriously….what the crap is up with my kiddos lately!?
I am not sure if my ‘give a darn’ is lowered or what.
I don’t know if the heat has gotten to the older 4.
But whatever it is can go away & leave them alone.

They have become more and more disrespectful, hurtful,non-listening, bullies, off the wall kiddos these last few weeks. (This was going on before Lily arrived). Things have cooled down since M & D were given medication (thank God!). They are choosing not to listen. They are choosing to talk back. They are choosing to leave their messes. They are choosing to do every little thing that they do\don’t do. And I have had enough! I know that I have said that before…outloud, here on the blog, and\or on my personal FB status—but I am so flippin’ serious this time!
I have tried charts for chores & behavior and none of that seems to work. I know (pretty sure) that a lot of the reason these things don’t work is me. Yes, I am going to admit it for the first time. I am to blame (for the most part) as to why none of these efforts ever work out.

This is what happens:
I put something into place…like the behavior chart.
I stand firm by it and don’t give in when they get upset that they had to be put on a different color. (Stole from school so there was consistency between both) I talk firmly to them and let them know why this is happening.
And then I get tired, fed up, & drained from doing the same thing day in and day out with 4 kiddos. I mean am I expecting too much out of them by expecting them to remember what not to do everyday!? I would think not…at least for the older two! Once I hit a certain point….I just stop & then the chaos continues. But with less structure. I do more yelling and fighting with them then anything. They laugh at me when I tell them to do something or not to do something. I get back talk like no one’s business.

As I am typing this up I am realizing that I should tackle one thing at a time. Don’t put so many changes & charts up until one is pretty much under control. That could have definitely added to the problem….putting to much on mine & their plate. I need to stay form with them like I do in the beginning. I know it will get worse before it gets better. <<< I tell people that all the time!!!

Guess it’s time to practice what I preach.
I can’t tell\give someone advice and then turn around & do the opposite…..that seems counter productive….not to mention a hypocrite!

Today I will take all my charts down except one..the behavior chart. I need to work on that first. And since it’s summer….they don’t need the really structured schedule, I can get that back up right before school starts. I will do a chore chart around the same time. Everything is going to be put on the back burner except behavior. I have got to get this under some sort of control before I flip out & end up on the news.
Well I would hope that it wouldn’t come to that but there are definitely days where it has come close!

Thank you all for listening (well reading)…this is much better than therapy 🙂
I would love to hear suggestions, tips, tricks, things that worked for you…..anything! I just made my back bone stronger & I will nip this in the butt!

I will keep y’all updated on these things too as I am sure that I am not the only one that struggles with this sort of thing. I may take some ideas from Pinterest (gotta love Pinterest!) and make it work for our family….not sure yet.

Anyway, stay with me on this & come along for the ride and learn something along the way….and to teach me something!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

