Excuses

We have all made an excuse for at 1 thing in our life….my guess would be more than once, but at least 1 excuse.
This post isn’t about how I am better than anyone (because I am not!) or how there aren’t reasons why things don’t happen. This post is about the extreme that people go to. If this isn’t making sense, please just keep reading..hopefully my thoughts will come together by the end 🙂

There are so many things that we want to get done within a certain amount of time. And, of course, things happen & for whatever reason, these things don’t always get done on our timeframe or at all period. Whether is be because of circumstances out of our control or because of the choices that we have made up until that point. From my experience & what I have seen in my life…95% of why things don’t get done is from our own doing. If you were to really sit back and take a look at things, it’s our fault. Whether we didn’t manage our time better, we put too much on our plate, we didn’t budget correctly, we over spent, or we just didn’t want to get up and do it.
This happens all the time to everyone out there. Each of us are on a different scale but we have all been there! It happens & it’s apart of life. I would say that the majority of the time it’s not that big of a deal at the end of the day if you didn’t get something checked off your list. And, dare I say, that most of us can admit when it;s our fault when something doesn’t get done. That doesn’t bother me….been there – done that – still do it!

It’s the people that make an excuse for everything (and I literally mean everything) and it’s always someone else’s fault. That is just impossible that everything that does\doesn’t happen is someone else’s fault….that cannot just happen! You have control over your life and have to take certain steps to get our list checked off. I don’t understand where in their mind that this is ok & how they go through life actually thinking that this is how it is….truely boggles my mind!

I personally know someone like this & never takes responsibility for their actions or lack there of. It absolutely drives me nuts! Everything that happens in this persons life…their finger is always pointing to someone else saying “It’s them, not me!”. I am not even kidding here! I have never once heard this person (this person has been in my life for almost 10 years mind you) acknowledge their faults, said they were sorry for anything, and has never said something to the effect of “That was my fault, I screwed up.” NEVER!
Their world must be really nice to live in because, honestly, this isn’t the truth at all! This person, for whatever reason, will not take responsibility for anything that happens in their life.

I understand that this is not my problem & it’s not my life but when you are dealing with this daily & have to listen to the complaining that comes along with this….it becomes apart of my life. I definitely do not agree with this person or their reasons. I have actually voiced my opinion and asked why they don’t take responsibility for their actions and they changed the subject. I am not afraid to voice my opinion (and do so often) but I have come to learn that with this person, it is honestly & truly pointless. If you could be a fly on the wall – you would definitely understand what I mean.

Anyway, my point of this whole post is to tell you, the reader, please don’t make excuses for things that happen in your life. Take responsibility for your choices (or lack there of) and take a step back & see if you could have changed the outcome if you would have done something differently. Again, I know that things happen that are out of our control but that doesn’t mean that we should shrug our shoulders & give up. Try a different way or something. You get no respect from others if you just make excuses for the things that happen in your life. You won’t get anywhere if this is all you do anyway. Take ahold of the wheel of your life & do something about the things you want to change. No, it won’t happen overnight but taking that first step is much more admirable than not doing anything but wishing. Try. Fail. Start again. You are your own worst enemy. Look past yourself and get those things done that you want to do. It doesn’t have to be something huge that you want to get done…take baby steps. Make a list and start backwards. Get those simple things done that will get you to that bigger thing. This applies to everything in your life…..from as small as cleaning up your house to something like saving money for your own place. You can do it! Just stop making excuses!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

