Week 20 Appointment Update

Well we had our 20 week ultrasound & dr appointment today.
I had a different tech than I normally do & I have never met her before….and to be honest, I don’t want her again. Not very personable & talked to me like I was a child and didn’t know anything. She was angry with me because I didn’t drink enough water before my appointment. Well I am sorry but it felt like my bladder was going to explode, so I stopped drinking. Everytime she couldn’t see a part of Baby L clearly – she blamed it on me. I will try and make a point to not have her again (they only have two techs so hopefully I can get the other lady). But anyway on to how Baby L is doing!

Baby L is growing & developing just fine. Weighing in at around 12oz! Heartbeat is 147! We didn’t get to tell the tech that we didn’t want to find out the gender until she said “I don’t see any boy parts”. We didn’t know she was looking in that area until after she said that. And then when Mark said “Oh we didn’t want to find out” – she then said “Well I really can’t see any parts because her bladder isn’t full enough” (again, my fault). So we are no closer to finding out what Baby L is then we were yesterday. But like I have said many times….if this baby is a boy I would be VERY surprised!

I have lost another 2 lbs, making it a total of 15lbs that I have lost since I start going to the dr in November at 8 weeks. My dr said that he isn’t worried about it right now since the baby is growing right on track. He said that if it continues then he will look into it. I am eating, so no worries there. I figure because I was on the heavier side to begin with…it’s not really a big deal. They are alittle concerned with my placenta being so low. I have never ran into this issue before, so this is definitely something new for me. It’s not covering my cervix but they want to keep an eye on it just in case it moves further down. The tech said that they wouldn’t call it placenta previa yet, but if my placenta continues to go further down, then they will. If it continues to go closer to my cervix & covers it….then I will have to have a c-section. Not something that I want to happen, but it will get checked again 28 weeks and we will go from there. They said it’s still alittle too early to have a final answer but it’s something they want to keep an eye on.

I go back to the dr on 022012 & I will be around 24 weeks. I will have another ultrasound around 28 weeks to look at a few things they couldn’t get on Baby L this time & to check on my placenta.

Here are some pictures from today:

Side profile of Baby L


Hello world! See you soon!

Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Week 20 Appointment Update

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

