Donating

This is something that I cannot wait to do more of. Donating my time & money. I have always wanted to volunteer but never seemed to find the time with 4 kids and only one in school. But I think this year all that will change with having 2 kids in school. Enough about me though because this post isn’t about me….it’s about my 5 year old son.

Whenever our kids find change we let them keep it. They think they have struck it rich & we let them think that. My 5 year old had found some change and was carrying it around in his pocket. This weekend we ran to Wal-Mart for a few items & he asked if he could use his change to buy candy. I said sure if that’s how he wanted to spend it. After we found everything that we wanted, we head to the check out…I had forgotten that he wanted to buy candy & I think he did too.

We have 3 Wal-Mart stores here. Each of them have a big container at our of their doors for change for the Children’s Miracle Network (I think….I could be wrong about the charity). Dominic has never walked by it without putting some of his change in there. He had over $2 in change with him on the day. He said that he wanted to put his money in there. We were in no way trying to discourage him from giving them his money but we wanted to make sure that this is what he wanted. We double checked and asked if he was sure he wanted to put all his change in there. Without skipping a beat he said very matter-of-factly “Yes!”. As I stood there watching him put all his change in this container for charity, I couldn’t help but get choked up. It warms my heart that my son is so willing to giveaway his money that he could have kept for himself. I love the fact that he loves doing that. He gets so excited when he gets to donate his money. 🙂

I think that I will do some research on the charity that this container is for, show him & talk to him about it, and see what else he would like to do to raise money for this charity. I think that he will enjoy that very much! I also think that I will explain what donating is & how it can help others who are in need and how, in the end, benefits you as well.

I will make sure I always have change available for Dominic when we go into Wal-Mart so he can put some money in that container.

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

