Hope vs Prayer

Prayer:
Prayer is a form of religious practice that seeks to activate a volitional rapport to God or spirit through deliberate practice. Prayer may be either individual or communal and take place in public or in private. It may involve the use of words or song. When language is used, prayer may take the form of a hymn, incantation, formal creed, or a spontaneous utterance in the praying person. There are different forms of prayer such as petitionary prayer, prayers of supplication, thanksgiving, and worship/praise. Prayer may be directed towards a deity, spirit, deceased person, or lofty idea, for the purpose of worshipping, requesting guidance, requesting assistance, confessing sins or to express one’s thoughts and emotions. Thus, people pray for many reasons such as personal benefit or for the sake of others.

Hope:
Hope is the emotional state which promotes the belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life.[1] It is the “feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best” or the act of “look[ing] forward to with desire and reasonable confidence” or “feel[ing] that something desired may happen”. [2] Other definitions are “to cherish a desire with anticipation”; “to desire with expectation of obtainment”; or “to expect with confidence”.[3] In the English language the word can be used as either a noun or a verb, although hope as a concept has a similar meaning in either use. [4]

I have always wondered if there was a difference between hope & prayer. I mean I know there is a difference but when it comes to your faith….which is better? Do they go hand in hand? When you say ‘I hope {fill in the blank}’ does it mean the same as saying ‘I pray {fill in the blank}’? Does hope mean that you don’t have enough faith in God to answer your prayers?

I am not sure that anyone knows the answers to these questions, but I have always wondered if I should replace the word hope with the word pray\prayer. I also think that this is more of a personal way of thinking rather than a whole way of thinking. Not everyone will think the same as me……we all have different levels of faith and see our faith differently. Again, this is just something that has been on my heart for awhile. There may be no difference & I am just over thinking the whole thing. I am ok with that also….I just figured I would put this out there and wonder if anyone else has thought this or is thinking this right now.

I asked my fans if they personally thought there was a difference between hope & prayer….this is what they had to say:

Emily: Prayer-specifically asking a holy entity for something.
Hope-the faith He will answer!
Meredith: Hope is confidence in God’s promises when you’re living in sync with God’s commandments. Prayer is a conversation between you and God, that brings your desires in line with His. Part of that is asking for blessings for yourself and
others -…- part of that is voicing your concerns and frustrations and struggles. Prayer is more than just asking for something or giving thanks – it’s building and maintaining a relationship with God.

Both of these ladies had great answers! I think that Meredith explained it in more detail. Emily’s answer was short and to the point. Her answer is simple enough for anyone to understand. I would love to hear what the rest of you think! Is this something that you struggle with also?

I, personally, am going to make an effort to replace the word hope with prayer. Nothing against the word hope, but I feel if I am going to grow in my faith with God, then I need to do more than just hope He answers those prayers that I send His way. Not saying that everyone has to do this, because everyone’s faith level is different. This is just something that I feel that I need to do. I have faith in Him & I need to continue to grow in that faith. Now there are times where replacing the hope with prayer just won’t go. I can’t think of any (hahaha!) but I am sure I will come across a time where saying prayer instead of hope just won’t work. Anyway, I feel like I am not making much sense anymore, so I will just stop here. Like always, I would love to hear your input, feelings, ideas…whatever from you!

2 thoughts on “Hope vs Prayer

  1. The Holy scriptures say ‘ When you pray, believe that you receive and you shall have.’ Mark 11:24. There is nothing in the scripture regarding what if you do not receive. A sheep only follows the good shepherd who cares for the sheep.

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

