Sunday evening

I wasn’t feeling good at all Sunday morning, so we didn’t attend church. I was feeling better in the  evening so we went to the church wide picnic that was being held that night. They had tons of water slides for the kids, a cookout, and great music. My kids had a great time!

They were also holding a baptism this night. I am not baptized nor have a i ever seen one. I wasn’t sure what it was all about and part of me wanted to see what is it was about before I decided to get it done. Now I know that in the end, it doesn’t matter what it looks like, it’s why you are getting baptized that matters. It was more or less so I would know what to expect. That way when it came time for me to become baptized, I would know what to expect.

In Christianity, baptism (from the Greek noun baptisma; itself derived from baptismos, ritual washing)[2] is for the majority the rite of admission (or adoption[3]), almost invariably with the use of water, into the Christian Church generally[4] and also membership of a particular church tradition. Baptism has been called a sacrament and an ordinance of Jesus Christ.
*Copy  & pasted from Wikipedia. To read more about baptism, click here.*

My church called it ‘Going Public’ this time around. I am not sure, but I think they call it something different each time they hold a baptism. In the parking lot in front of where all the fun was happening was a big flat bed from a tractor trailer. The only thing that was on this flat bed was a box that said ‘Going Public’ on the side. I knew what it was for since my church has been talking about it for weeks. I was excited to see what all went on & to see people do this publicly.

We had a great spot on the grass….up front to see people get baptized. Everyone that was getting baptized got a baby blue t-shirt that said ‘Going Public’. Simple yet so meaningful. Each person was coming up and having their name called. We all cheered for them & clapped after they were baptized. Our two oldest had a ton of questions about why they were doing that & why couldn’t they do it too. We told
them to wait until after it was over and we would explain to them what was going on. As soon as the first person was baptized, I got all teary eyed. It was one of the best things I have ever seen. It was beautiful! It was such a simple act that means so much more! I had it on my heart to be baptized before I saw this but once I saw it, it sealed the deal. The next time the opportunity comes up that my church offers to baptize people, I will be signing up.

I was so happy for those people and their families for what they were doing. They weren’t doing it behind doors….they were doing it in a parking lot in a fairly big city! It was great! I absolutely loved watching it!

If you are uncertain about being baptized or what it is all about, please ask someone! Don’t be afraid to ask someone to explain it to you. Go find a home church and talk with a staff member about it also. Don’t worry about what others will think of you…..in the end it doesn’t matter & others opinions won’t save you. It is one of the best things that you can do in your entire life!

One thought on “Sunday evening

  1. Pingback: Sunday evening - christianfamiliesnetwork.com - christian families network

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

