A new leaf

Before we left NC I told myself that I would do something different once we moved….be a better me, be involved, stick my hand out there and say hello to people I don’t know. Well I am on the right track!

I didn’t have a lot of friends in Greenville. I had a few here and there, and mostly it was just people that I would say hello to if we happened to be at the same event….nothing deeper than that. I wasn’t happy about it but I also didn’t have any motivation to get out there and do anything about it. I have met a few people here in the hotel that are moving here, met a mom from the playgroup here in Wichita Falls, and am planning on meeting more. I don’t need a lot of friends to be happy or feel whole….it’s the process for me that I am wanting to change. I won’t be afraid to say hello, exchange a smile, and introduce myself. I am not perfect & I might screw up….but I don’t care anymore.

We belonged to a great church in Greenville. We went to service almost every Sunday and even attended some events outside of those Sunday mornings…..but that’s about as far as it went. No small group, no meeting new people…nothing. We have a found a great church here in WF & we absolutely love it! It reminds us of our church in Greenville. I have signed up to volunteer in the office, registered my husband and I for small group, and much more planned! I am wanting to get our kids involved in the church more, as well as my husband and I. I can’t really call it my church if I am not doing something other than going every Sunday..I am not growing by only doing that.

I participated in one charity event in Greenville, March for Babies in 2010. I planned on going to the one in 2011, but it slipped my mind with everything else that was going on. Not this time! I am writing all the events down that I want to attend….I am speaking up and saying, ‘Yes I want to be apart of this’ or ‘Hey, I am doing this, anyone else want to join me?’. I am finding things that I enjoy doing and\or interested in doing! This is a first for me. I don’t care who doubts me in my ability to do these things….I am not doing them for you & I will just end up proving you wrong. I am excited to get out there and do something that I like….me time!

There were community events too that I wanted to go to and bring the kids along but just really never had the motivation to do so. Again, not this time! I have ‘like’d a few places and organizations here in WF and plan on taking the kids to as much as I can. Whether it be something at the library, sports, or whatever….I will make the effort to be apart of it. This part isn’t about me..it’s about my kids & letting them have fun!

Now with all that said….I will have to train myself to do things when I don’t want to. Remember to write things down on the calendar & plan for things. All these things I will have to work on. I know in the end if will be for the better and not just for me, but all 6 of us! I am excited to get out there and be involved! I cannot wait to let you all know how things are going & share pictures of us doing these things!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

