National Breastfeeding Week

August 1 – 7 is breastfeeding week! I am not going to give you stats or information about breastfeeding or why I think you should do it. Just like anything else, breastfeeding is a personal choice & shouldn’t be something that is shoved down your throat. I am pro breastfeeding….though my experiences weren’t that great & I had to resort to formula. I am not against formula. I know that for many reasons out there, a mother just cannot breastfeed her child. There is nothing wrong with that & you shouldn’t be made to feel that way.
This is not a post that is to debate your views on breastfeeding. This is a post that will let you know why these women choose to breastfeed. At the end of the post I will add links to these womans favorite websites & Facebook pages.
Hope you enjoy!

Heather Baker:
I started on this adventure in breastfeeding because it was something that I saw modeled in my home growing up. I was blessed to be the oldest of my mothers 4 daughters. I saw her nurse all my sisters, and many times we would all line up on the couch next to her while she was nursing the youngest, and nurse our dolls. So, when I became pregnant with my first I knew I was going to breastfeed my child. It didn’t matter that I was only 17 and the easy thing to do would have been to give my baby formula. I wanted to do what I felt was best for my son. In our crazy life, nursing him was the high point of my day. It was my time to relax and spend time with my son in between doing my school work and the housework for my grandparents. In reality this was the easy way to do things. No bottles to fill or heat. Just time with my baby. No one else could take it away from me. I have nursed all five of my children now and I wouldn’t have done it any other way. People think it is a big deal if you nurse, and Heaven forbid you nurse out in public (you might flash someone, not that they haven’t seen more in the ads plastered all over the place of girls in underwear). But nurse a toddler or nurse TWO at once, and you are now certifiable. That would be me. With my first son, I nursed him til he was 1 1/2. I weaned him only because I met my husband and didn’t know how to tell him I was still nursing my son. Yup, real nice reason that was. I regret the sudden weaning. It hurt me (physically due to engorged breasts and emotionally) and it hurt my son cause he didn’t understand why he couldn’t nurse down to sleep anymore. After all that, I decided that with the next child, I wouldn’t wean like that. So, that’s what I did. My second son continued to nurse happily thru my third sons pregnancy, and shared the wealth with no problem. He liked to call my breasts “nur-nurs”. I always made sure the baby got first dibs on the supply. They were a happy nursing duo. My older son often would rub his brothers back while nursing. It was so much easier being able to nurse both of the boys down to sleep at night, and I’ll admit, I often fell asleep with them since we co-slept with the crib sidecarred onto the side of the full size bed. Then, when the boys were about 3 1/2 and 1 1/2, I was pregnant with our 4th son. This is where it got a bit much for me. I nursed the boys still until I was about 7 or 8 months pregnant. By then, a combination of sore nipples and almost non existant milk supply put an end to our nursing. The boys kind of self weaned together, with a little encouragement from mom (and lots of back rubs for them at bedtime). After my 4th son was born, the two that had just weaned would occassionally ask to nurse again for a few minutes and I have memories of some very peaceful final nursings for them. My 4th son nursed til he was about 2 1/2, thru a short pregnancy that ended with an ectopic loss. And after my daughter was born, he too nursed again occasionally for comfort like when he got stung by a wasp under his eye. He too enjoyed his time nursing, though some one thought it was a wonderful idea to introduce him to a bottle after we ended up at my inlaws house due to a house fire. That took forever to break him from, resulting in lots of dental trouble for him. Lesson I learned yet again-your inlaws don’t always know what is best. My daughter is now 4 yrs old. She just turned 4 this past May. She still likes to nurse down to sleep at night and often comes back into bed sometime around 4 AM to top off the tank so to speak as she cuddles with me til it’s time to get up for the day. I’m getting a lot of flak for nursing her still. She nursed thru the pregnancy of my youngest baby that we lost to miscarriage. She really enjoys the closeness that our nursing relationship offers. Her name for my breast is nummies and she tells me she loves the nummies all the time. She even comes over to hug or pat the nummies. When he dad or brothers make comments about her stopping nursing she gets upset and runs to me for a comforting hug. Not sure how much longer she will be nursing. I know that there has not been a kid going to college nursing, so I’m not worried. My mom actually nursed one of my younger sisters til she was around 3 or so as well. My daughter may be my last child, so I guess a part of me is saying that I will be ready when you are to end the nursing. Will I be ready? I don’t know. I know that I have done the best that I can by nursing my children as long as I have (something over 12 years total time so far) both physically and emotionally. For me there wasn’t a sweeter sight then a child that has just fallen asleep at the breast as you ease away. The sweet milky breath is like nothing they have in the scented candles department. I’ll miss these days when they are gone.

Patricia Mills:
1) it’s cheap. Ok, so I’m a cheapskate!
2) it’s the best thing for him.
3) there has to be a reason for the size of my knockers! Seriously, I’m a size J!!!
4) the bonding is so special and I love it.
5) it’s natural!
These are not in any particular order.

Melissa Hatcher:
I breastfed because I heard that it not only benefited my baby, but also me! My
daughter was a premie, so the Dr’s suggested I breastfeed her, but they didn’t
have to tell me twice! My daughter breastfed until her first birthday, when my
Dr told me I had to stop because I had lost too much weight! Otherwise we would
have continued. I miss the bonding that breastfeeding gave us. I wasn’t able to
breastfeed my first baby because she was so premature and had to have tubes in
her throat, but I notice a difference in my “bond” with my older child who
didn’t get to breastfeed, and my younger baby who breastfed for a year. I now
hope to be able to breastfeed each of my children for at least their first year,
if not longer!

Jessica Cundiff:
I chose to breastfeed for a few reasons..One it was cheaper then buying formula
and first and for most it was the most healthiest thing for him and me..The
health and social benefits of a child who breastfeeds is enourmous, not only do
they end up having a great immune system but i also makes them secure with who
they are when they get older(according to studies of children breastfed vs
formula fed).. it also cuts the chances of the mothers breast and ovarian cancer
by 50 percent! Its also on tap so u are always ready for anything thay may occur
when ur baby is hungrey u dont have to worry about water if you have enough
formula..And not to mention the bonding that goes on between a mother and baby!

Favorite Sites:
Breastfeeding.com
La LecheLeague
The Leaky B@@b
Kellymom.com
Moms Little Ones – Breastfeeding & Natural Parenting Store
Arizona Breastfeeding Coalition
Breastfeeding awareness
Breastfeeding is not obscene

2 thoughts on “National Breastfeeding Week

  1. I def feel that breastfeeding should be pushed down peoples throats a lil more than they are but hey wht can i say im a bitch! i think women give up to easily, unless ur a working mother than formula i can def see would be easier

    • I have to disagree with you. It’s choice just like everything else. There are many reasons why a woman may not be able to breastfeed. When you have trouble with it and try, it is very frustrating. And yes, some may give up too easily but that’s their choice. I think we should inform women…not shove it down their throats…you don’t get positive results that way.

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

