A bittersweet weekend

This past weekend (071\11 – 073\11) was the first out of two weekends that we will be saying goodbye t our family here on the east coast.

It was definitely bittersweet for me. As much as I love seeing and spending time with my family, I knew what this visit meant. It meant that this would be the last time that I would see them in I am not sure how long. It meant that these would be the last few weeks that they would be 4 hours away from us. It meant that it was settling in that we wouldn’t be able to just pack up (or them) and go see them whenever we wanted. It meant more distance between us.

It also meant these things: a great time, family time, swimming, pizza eating, movie watching, goofing off, and being around family that loves us no matter what & supports us even if they don’t agree. It meant my kids could see some family that they truly enjoy and love. It meant making memories that  my kids will always remember.

We spent most of Saturday with my dad, step mom, sister, and her boyfriend. It was a great time & the kids loved it! They even took Mark and Dom is see Transformers 3! But then Sunday morning came. I knew what Sunday morning meant…..saying goodbye. I wasn’t sure how I would react when it came to saying goodbye and giving out hugs. And, to be honest, I wasn’t sure how my step mom would react either. (We are both emotional kinda people) But there were no tears (that I saw) and it ended like all of our visits do. I am not sure if that was because the reality hadn’t set in yet or because everyone was trying to avoid what the reality was. Either way, it ended better then I thought it would.

Thank you all so much for driving down here, staying the weekend, and spending your time with us. It sucks as to why you all came down here but it was great seeing & spending time with you! The pictures turned out great! Thank you for everything…and I don’t just mean this weekend….I mean my entire life, thank you! We love you all so much!

Having a drive take 7 hours instead of 4 = Sucky
Not sleeping in your own bed = Not always great
Knowing your family will come visit you regardless of all that = priceless!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

