The Scale

I would say that it’s safe to say that most women aren’t too fond of the scale.
I know for me…..we aren’t the best of friends. The only time I don’t mind what the scale says is when I am pregnant…..it’s the only time that it’s ok if I gain some weight here and there.

My husband is active with soccer and works in the heat, so he has started to loose weight. We are staying at friends house for a few weeks and they happened to have a scale in their bathroom. When I first saw it I said to myself ‘Oh I am not stepping one foot on that thing!’ My husband was curious to see how much he weighed since he had been so active lately. He wasn’t too happy with what the scale said but it wasn’t too far off what I thought he weighed. I told him that I didn’t want to step on it because of what it would say. He told me what he thought I weighed. We weren’t too far off in thinking the same number. I changed my mind. I wanted to see if the number he thought was more, less, or spot on.

I was nervous about stepping on the scale because the numbers don’t lie. I have seen others that weigh the same as I do but look bigger as well as other women who weigh the same as me and look smaller. I am not good at guessing how much something weighs but I had a number in my head. I didn’t want to be bigger than that number. It would have made me sad…..and maybe even cry if that number was bigger than the one that was in my head.

So I started the walk to the bathroom, walked in, closed the door, and locked it. I didn’t want anyone bothering me during this moment because I didn’t know what the outcome was going to be. I dived right in and just stepped on it. I didn’t stand there for a minute or second guess what I was about to do. However, I did just stand on it for a minute before I looked down. When I first looked down at the number I thought I saw a one number but it was blurry and I couldn’t really focus. (was very nervous at this point) So I looked up, blinked a few times, and looked down again. I was honestly shocked at what the number was saying.

I was less than what my husband and I thought I was! I came out of the bathroom smiling and my husband confessed that he wasn’t sure what that smile meant. I (and he) was so proud of the fact that I had lost more weight than I thought and that the number on the scale was less than the number in my head! I checked it a few hours later to make sure that I read it right the first time haha!

Anyway, I am not going to obsess about this and step on the scale everyday and see if my weight went up or down. I am just going to keep doing what I am doing and check it if my clothes start to feel different from the way they feel now. I just wanted to share some good news with you! I haven’t seen this number in years! I would like to be a certain weight….so I guess we will see how it all turns out! But this is a great start to where I would like to be!

2 thoughts on “The Scale

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

