Holding back

I have debated posting this blog because I wasn’t sure how people would react to it. But I have thought about it and I don’t care who doesn’t like it. This is how I feel and believe. If I lose fans/friends over this, then so be it. It wasn’t meant to be then.
There are less than a hand full of people that I am friends with that I can be honest with them and tell them my thoughts on different situations. I can tell them my point of view, why I believe what I do, and know that they won’t try to argue with me about it or try to disprove me. Now they may ask questions and things like that (which I don’t mind) but I have a tendency to hold back with the majority of people in my life.

{I am hoping that I can make sense of this & people understand where I am coming from}

I know that everyone believes different things, think differently, raised differently- among many other things. I don’t expect everyone to agree with me (though it would make my life easier haha). But there are some people that I just hold back from telling them my feelings or saying what I believe is true. I can get very passionate about my beliefs and get very angry when people try to tell me that my beliefs aren’t right. I am very solid in what I believe in with certain topics and if you don’t believe in what I do-I have a hard time being close to you. And yes I am talking about God but there are so many other things that I believe in that I am talking about. It could be anything from abortion to zoology! (Ok maybe not zoology, but I couldn’t think of another ‘z’ word at the moment!)

And I know that some people out there would call my closed minded because I am stuck in my beliefs but I would have to disagree with them. I am more than willing to hear people out about whatever the topic might be. But that doesn’t mean that I will agree with them or think that their view/opinion is right. I get along with a lot of people from different backgrounds and beliefs. I have many close friends that I love and cherish very much-but we don’t agree on everything. I don’t shut people out of my life because of these differences- I just find it difficult to have a close bond/relationship with them.

I very rarely speak up about my views on things because I don’t always have facts or references to back up what I believe in….it’s just something that is within me and am passionate about. I am not sure I can explain it any better than that. Another reason I do not speak up is because I don’t feel like arguing with people because I do tend to get passionate and get mad and, on occasion, yell. The things that I believe in- I am very passionate about. I don’t mind talking to anyone about anything. I don’t mind answering questions about why I believe what I do. I don’t mind going back and forth with someone about our differences. I do mind when people start to be hateful towards me because of what I believe in. I do mind when people call me names because of this. I do mind when people act childish and can’t hold a conversation and use big girl/boy words to express their feelings. Once the name calling, put-downs, and degrading come into play….I am out! And I most likely won’t try to have a relationship with you.

So if I don’t say anything or say much on a topic that you bring up to me, it’s not because I agree with you or don’t have a stand on the topic, it’s because I don’t know how you will react to me and what I would say next. I do not think/feel that I am better than anyone. I do, however, feel that my beliefs are correct because of where I get them from. You don’t have to agree with me, I don’t expect everyone too, but I do except people to be respectful towards me (& others who think differently than they do). We are all adults here-act like it. You can have a debate or discussion about things without being immature about it. If you want people to be respectful and listen to what you have to say-then you need to that to others. It’s like the old saying goes ‘Treat others how you want to be treated’. It’s an oldie but so very true!

Think about these things the next time you run into someone who doesn’t agree with you. It’s ok not to agree-but it’s not ok to be disrespectful.

One thought on “Holding back

  1. I’m out to convert-no energy for the devil! JK. Loved talking about this stuff with you the other night!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

