We weren’t friends until…..

Each ‘blank’ is different from the next persons, but my blanks are usually until we became mothers.

Most of my ‘friends’ on Facebook are with people I went to school with. I wasn’t friends with all of them back then, and most, I am not friends with now….we are ‘friends’ I haven’t seen a lot of the people that I went to high school with in a very long time, which sucks, but that’s life!

 When I found most of my old classmates on Facebook they were either pregnant or already had their baby. So we would ‘friend’ each other and maybe say a few things, ask how life was going, and probably say a few things about our kids. Some haven’t gone further then that and some have become my good friends.

I don’t know why I wasn’t friends with certain people in school and at this point in my life, it doesn’t really matter. What matters is the relationships that I have with them now. I think it’s cool that motherhood can bring two people that weren’t friends before and, now that they have a common interest, have them become friends. And this is true with people that you never knew before. Most people change when they become a parent and aren’t who they were pre-kids. So maybe someone you are friends with now you wouldn’t have been before because you just didn’t have anything in common. It’s amazing to me how one thing, regardless of what it is, can bring lives together and forever change them. There are certain people that I would have never met if it weren’t for having kids. Barely a handful are my closest friends are moms and I would have never met them if it weren’t for having my kids when I did (same with them). Sometimes I wonder why I had kids when I did and then I meet certain people and think to myself ‘It was to meet them’. Not the only purpose but one of them.

Just think about all of the friends that you have, now take away the common interest you have with them….if it weren’t for that common interest, you wouldn’t have become friends. I love my friends like family and they mean so much to me. I am thankful for the ones I have gained and the ones that I have lost. Some people are in our lives for shorts periods of time to teach us something but definitely hold on to the ones that mean the most to you. Friends come and go but they always leave something behind, good or bad. I feel like you should be thankful for the bad ones because if it weren’t for those bad ones you wouldn’t have learned something. Whether that something be about yourself or a life lesson kinda thing.

I wouldn’t be who I am today if it weren’t for the lessons I have learned through friendships. Again, take that common interest away, and you may have never met that person – learned that lesson – gotten an opportunity that you now have. You never know what you would loosing out on if it weren’t for certain people in your life. I love mine and would do anything in the world for them…some wouldn’t do the same for me but it’s not about what I get in return, it’s about being the best friend I can be no matter what. This saying is also true, ‘They may not always remember what you said or did, but they will always remember the way you made them feel’. That goes for good or bad feelings too.

And please always remember this, because it is so true, and relationships aren’t what do I get because I did this for you…give your best no matter what – Treat others the way you want to be treated. If you wouldn’t want someone to do something to you, then don’t do it to them. There is no excuse to treat someone less then because they wronged you!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

