Fight for Preemies

Today, November 17th, is Prematurity Awareness Day. I was so excited when Beverly from March of Dimes asked me to be apart of this!
Then it dawned on me….I don’t have a preemie and really didn’t know anyone who did.
So I went on CafeMom and posted a journal asking woman to share their stories. I was overwhelmed by the response that I received from this!

Here is the post on Bloggers United about Fight for Preemies!
Objective:
Every year, 20 million babies are born too soon, too small and very sick-half a million of them in the U.S. November 17th is when we fight!Do you know a baby who was born too soon, too small, unable to breathe or nurse on their own? With 1 in every 8 babies born prematurely, you probably do. While medical advances give some babies a chance of survival, for many babies premature birth is a life-or-death condition. Babies who survive can face serious health challenges and risk lifelong disabilities.

The rate of premature birth has risen more than 30 percent since 1981. In half the cases, we simply don’t understand what went wrong. The March of Dimes is leading the fight for answers. And, ultimately, preventions.

November 17 is dedicated to raising awareness of the crisis.

 

There are (as of right now) 317 bloggers that are participating in writing today about a preemie. (This is from the site that I signed up at to be apart of this) That is too many posts going out about babies born too early. I hope that one day we will know why babies are born early and ways to prevent it…but until then, let’s help spread the word! Don’t forget to walk in the March of Dimes when they come to your city. It may not seem like a lot to you-but it means so much to the families that are going through this.

If you would like more information please visit this site.

Today I will posting each story that was given to me! I think that I have about 11 or 12 stories. I will be copying and pasting what was sent to me along with any pictures.
I want to thank all of the families that are allowing me to publish their story. I have never been in your shoes but my heart goes out to you and all the other families that have had to walk through those NICU doors.

3 thoughts on “Fight for Preemies

  1. As far as preemies go I feel like I got out pretty easy. My twins were born at 34 weeks and 6 days, they only spent 10 days in the NICU. Low birth weight were the biggest concerns with them bc they were only on oxygen for 12 hrs and feeding tubes for 3-4 days. I saw other babies that had been there for months and it broke my heart. It made me feel guilty that I wax able to take my angels home after only 10 days, but also thankful for the same reason. My heart goes out to all others with preemies

  2. You are absolutely terrific! Thank you so much for helping to raise awareness for the Fight for Preemies. I can’t wait to read all of the stories you have gathered.

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

