Do as I say, not as I do

This is a great way to do something in front of your kids, that you don’t want them doing, but then say it’s ok because I am an adult and you are a child. This is something that I used to say a lot when I was a younger mother then I am now. But then as I matured into what I am now (still have work to do…..don’t get me wrong), I have found that I don’t think saying that to them. If it’s not ok now….would it be ok period? If my answer is no, then I try not to do it at all.
With that being said…this is much easier said then done! Being a parent and setting an example for you kids is a hard thing to do….takes more thinking then one who doesn’t have kids would know. This is something that I struggle with on a daily basis….multiple times a day!
But I am not here to get into a deep conversation about this…….

I am here to tell you that I am waiting for the day when I get onto my kids about something that they have done and/or said, and then they turn around and tell me that I need a timeout or something like that when I do/say something that I have gotten onto them about! Everytime I am having a talk with my kids after they sit in timeout, I am usually telling them not to do something that I have recently done! As the flash back of what I have done/said is going through my mind, I try not to laugh because, after all, I am in the middle of getting on them about something. But man, knowing my kids, they are going to tell me to sit in timeout or I am grounded for doing something that isn’t ok to do in this house!

Has this happened to anyone? Have you been in the middle of getting on to your kids about something & they look at you and say “But you (or Daddy) does it?” Were you doing something that you told your kids they couldn’t do and went and told on you and/or said that you needed a punishment? I would love to hear these stories!

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

