Homemade vanilla wafers

I just went to get the links for where I copied these recipes from (sorry to the original posters!) but these aren’t my recipes at all!

The first one that I made was the vanilla wafers. These are super easy! And you can make them as big/little as you want. To be honest with you, they taste just like sugar cookies to me. I am not sure what the difference is between the two after tasting them.

I made them little for a few reasons: #1 they are perfect size for the kiddos. #2 they are perfect snacking size for adults! You can eat more and not be eating as much. Does that make sense?

Here is the recipe:

5 tablespoons butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup milk
2 cups unbleached cake flour or all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Cream the butter and sugar together in a large mixing bowl. Add the egg, vanilla, and milk and mix well. Sift in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir well.

Spoon the dough into a gallon-sized freezer bag. This is a bit easier if the corner of the bag to be filled up is resting inside a large wide-mouthed glass. Cut off the tip of one of the corners and pipe the dough onto ungreased cookie sheets at least one inch apart.

Bake for 12-15 minutes until the bottoms begin to turn golden brown. Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool. Serve or store in an airtight container.

Yield: 4 dozen cookies
Prep-time: 15 minutes
Bake-time: 15 minutes

Here are some pictures from the ones that I made:

Vanilla Wafers jan7 015 jan7 020 jan7 022 jan7 064 jan7 065 jan7 066 jan7 068 jan7 069 jan7 070 jan7 074

Theses are yummy, easy, & I ended up making some mini ice cream sandwiches!

jan7 071 jan7 072 jan7 075 jan7 076

 

I rolled them all the sprinkles that I had in the baking cabinet. The kiddos loved them!

One thing that I learned & will do definitely with the sandwiches is that I will freeze the tray I put them on & do smaller batches. The ice cream started melting before I could get the sandwiches made fast enough! Lesson learned!

This was so fun to do & the kiddos loved it. Plus you can make so many at one time that this isn’t something that you would have to make every other day. Making them different colors is fun too! Plus it’s getting me ready for Spring!

 

I look forward to your comments & try to reply to every single one of them :)

